The best FIFA Football Awards 2020
Return to Football


4 min. reading time

Virtually, the best

The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2020, held as a virtual event at the Home of FIFA in Zurich, crowned two household names, Lucy Bronze and Robert Lewandowski, as the game’s outstanding women’s and men’s players.

I would like to share this trophy with my club, my president (Jean-Michel Aulas). It’s thanks to them that I am here today. I worked a lot, but they gave me everything I needed to reach the top level.
Sarah Bouhaddi
The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

Netherlands women’s national-team boss Sarina Wiegman was named The Best FIFA Women’s Coach for the second time in her career following her 2017 success. Meanwhile, Jürgen Klopp claimed The Best FIFA Men’s Coach Award for the second consecutive year, having steered Liverpool to the English Premier League title for the first time, 30 years after their last top-flight success.

Germany and Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer was chosen as The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper, while France and Olympique Lyonnais’ Sarah Bouhaddi capped her amazing career with The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper Award.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Robert Lewan­dowski

Bayern Munich

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Lucy Bronze

Olympique Lyonnais/Manchester City WFC

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Jürgen Klopp


The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Sarina Wiegman

Netherlands national team

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

Manuel Neuer

Bayern Munich

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

Sarah Bouhaddi

Olympique Lyonnais

FIFA Puskás Award

Son Heung-min (Korea Republic)

Tottenham Hotspur v. Burnley,

Premier League – England (7 December 2019)

FIFA Fan Award

Marivaldo Francisco da Silva (Brazil)

With no money to pay for transport, Marivaldo walks for 12 hours, crossing three cities, to watch his team Sport Recife’s home matches.

FIFA Fair Play Award

Mattia Agnese (Italy)

During a game, Mattia, a 17-year-old from Ospedaletti (in the Liguria region), saw an opponent fall to the ground and lose consciousness. He did not hesitate for a moment, rushing to the player’s aid, getting him into a safe position and ultimately saving his life before help arrived.

Often in the football world, there is a tendency to see the opponent as the worst enemy, but in reality, respect and sportsmanship should be the fundamental values of this sport.
Mattia Agnese
FIFA Fair Play Award Winner

FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11

Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (Liverpool)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), and Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Midfielders: Thiago Alcântara (Bayern Munich/Liverpool), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), and Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), and Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World11

Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain)

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea FC Women), Lucy Bronze (Olympique Lyonnais/Manchester City WFC), and Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais)

Midfielders: Barbara Bonansea (Juventus Women), Verónica Boquete (Utah Royals/AC Milan Women), and Delphine Cascarino (Olympique Lyonnais)

Forwards: Pernille Harder (VfL Wolfsburg/Chelsea FC Women), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns/Manchester United WFC), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal WFC), and Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign)